Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Getting to know the DWD members better!

Getting to know the DWD members better!

This has come from the Action for Happiness calendar, but as we're on lockdown we can't get to know our neighbours better, so what better reason to ask each other questions and get to know each of us better.

Please be aware that some people may not want to answer the question you've asked and that's fine - there's no pressure, it's meant to be fun, not intimidating!

I'll start:

Paula - You've mentioned you used to play the cello. What other instruments do you play and do grades?
    Do a little of something that makes you happy every day!

Damn, I knew that was going to bite me

I played keyboard (which meant I could play piano a little bit but they are very different disciplines). My dad also taught me a little guitar - he’s incredibly talented and self taught 12 different instruments inc oboe, sax and double bass. I also sang, until I got glandular fever.....

I was no good at grades and gave up before cello grade 3 - I always played for joy and couldn’t cope with the stress. But I did GCSE music and got an A (before A* was a thing) which I was very proud of. Mainly because a third of the grade was composing and I never thought I could write music

Mira - I know you speak several languages. Which are they and what’s your favourite?
    The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Paula For This Useful Post:

Flo (07-02-21),Suzi (26-01-21)

Ok, new question. Stella, we’ve had a few hints about your obsession with Superman. How did that come about, and who’s your favourite Superman/film?
    The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.