Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carer nearing the beginning of the end.

speedyveg

Carer nearing the beginning of the end.

Hello All,

This is my first time seeking help anywhere out of our family unit. I don't believe our situation is anywhere as bad as others - in fact we've come a hugely long way. I just can't seem to get us past the next (hopefully last) bit.

Background:
    Been together 18 odd years, married since 2013. She has a daughter from a previous marriage. We have bought her up together, she is 19 and great. Has a job, drives my car, lovely BF. No worries there.

We have a lovely house and garden, new cars, can afford nice food - money is no issue. Both have jobs, mine full time. Hers is part time 3 days per week doing work she generally enjoys. We have a nice old dog.

The source of the depression:
    Fortunately for "us" this is easy... my wife has Cerebral Palsy, it only affects her legs so if she's sitting down and you walked into a room you wouldn't have a clue until she stood up and attempted to walk.

The walking part she used to be able to do no problem. However one of her hips gave out and she needed it replaced. She also has arthritis in the ankle. This has reduced her mobility and left her in varying levels of physical pain. This loss of independence couple with the pain drove her down a dark hole in 2014. There are some only contributing factors to her depression which I will elaborate on. (deafness, recurring sinus pain, occasional bad PMT)

She's in a lot better place than she used to be and I have had to learn how to help her mental health. These days, she suffers from bouts of depression, constant anxiety about certain things with potential to have full blown panic attacks (I really tried to avoid these though as they are so draining on the whole family).

She has normal interaction with people outside of the family, but sometimes won't accept visitors.