Thread: Art of War vs Integrity

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    JadeW

Art of War vs Integrity

I'm a social worker by a profession, respectful, assertive - and EXTREMELY MENTALLY AND NEUROLOGICALLY ILL.

After working with me for three months and seeing me getting treated inhumanely - and me continuing to engage assertively in response - my carer finally spoke up. She said "you don't really believe in that sh*t don't you?" and I asked "what?" and she said "assertiveness" and I said yeah "isn't it meant to be effective interpersonal communication?" and she said "well just look at your outcomes! - you are getting completely screwed over". I asked her how I could get better outcomes and she said "manipulation is the only way to survive this world".

After three hilariously fun months she left the job -with disaster in her wake (of course) - elaborate lies and no notice, leaving shifts uncovered between Christmas and New Years. She was good value while she lasted though.

Yesterday was my first appointment back with my psychiatrist for the year. (The previous carer sat in my weekly sessions with my psychiatrist and reckoned he is attracted to his profession as a way of not owning his own neuroses but her observation in not my point).

Although never discussed before, I asked my psychiatrist for feedback about me over the past years yesterday. His feedback was phenomenally similar to my old carer. He recommended I adopt the "Art of War" - to manoeuvre, surprise, deceive, to subdue my enemy; to outwit my enemy, to avoid their strengths and fight their weaknesses; to use detailed calculation; to plan meticulously and only attack when the conditions of victory were favourable. To lure my enemy into a fake battle and then use indirect attack to beat them. He encouraged me to know my enemy and turn my enemy's spies against them... as double agents are the the best weapons I have against them.