Page 1 of 90 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Where I'm at

Where I'm at

Ok, its taken me a while to pluck up the courage to post this so firstly I ask you all NOT to go through the whole ‘welcome back’ palaver cos it makes me feel really uncomfortable and I'm not even sure I'll be sticking around.

I guess I've not been doing so good for quite a while now. All the signs were there to see, poor hygiene, social withdrawal, irregular sleep patterns/ sleeping during the day, paranoia, obsessive behaviour, highly emotional, lack of energy/motivation, not eating sensibly....the list goes on, but each time I noticed one of these symptom I would push myself and fight it and foolishly thought I was winning. All I was doing was painting over the cracks. Now I'm feeling lost and alone and don't know which way to turn.

I've been fighting this battle with depression and anxiety for so many years now but every time I think I'm getting on top of it, and I've made so many changes in my life and tried so many techniques to help, its like the depression mutates and finds a different way to sneak up and catch me out. I have come so far over the years and made to many positive steps but I still can't out run this black cloud.

Social media has been a huge trigger for me lately, and even this forum didn't feel like the safe place for me that it once was, which is why I shut everything down. The less contact with the outside world, the less I would have to deal with. I was in a downward spiral and I had to do something to stop it. Maybe it was a bit extreme but I had to put the brakes on and give myself time to breathe.

I'm not convinced that posting here again is right for me and it kinda feels a bit weird but my counsellor is worried that without DWD I have no real support structure in place and she's not the only person showing concern. So here I am. Trying to interact and asking for advice on how to expand my support network.