PDA

View Full Version : Loneliness *SU Trigger*

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

Strugglingmum
06-08-18, 10:00 PM
So this time last week I was in hospital following another overdose. I'm home and doing ok.
I live with my hubby and 3 teens. I just feel so so alone all the time. I have been battling depression for 3 years and I confess that I do tend to isolate a lot and hold people at arms length. I have lost a lot of friends over the past 2 years and I know its my fault. I find loneliness so overwhelming at times that I can get hopeless.
Does anyone have any tips on how to let down the defences?? How to trust people with how I feel, how my thoughts work? Basically how do I trust people who dont understand my illness to be able to cope with me

CaterpillarGirl
06-08-18, 10:04 PM
It's such a difficult thing to do, to be honest the first time I was open about my depression I was drunk and confessed to my next door neighbour, she didn't really understand but she tried to hard to and was so understanding that it made it easier for me to open up to others (not that I'm saying you should get drunk and tell people, more that even though it's hard it feels good to open up and once you've told one person it is so much easier to be open with others too)

CaterpillarGirl
06-08-18, 10:05 PM
Sorry I don't know how to edit my post but I meant to put *tried so hard to*

Suzi
06-08-18, 10:42 PM
I've added a *SU Trigger warning* just to alert other members that this thread discusses suicide. It's nothing to worry about, but other members may find it triggering for their own journey.

I'm glad you're home and your attempt wasn't completed. You can do this, you can get through this.
Are you in touch with the crisis team at all? What kind of support do you have?