PDA

View Full Version : Media Request: Depression in one sentence

JL-
04-01-16, 06:38 AM
Hi all, I need your input.

Today I found out that an old friend committed suicide after a long battle with depression. I can not sleep. My mind is a whirlwind. Even though I've suffered from 'it' for over 10 years, it made me remember that you can never quite understand or recognise it when it comes to other people, yet so many of us have encountered and become limp from depression. It is different for every one of us.

I am a graphic designer and have decided to create, self publish and distribute a zine (niche magazine) on the experiences of mental health -- we need to make it 'accepted' and understood so people will not feel ashamed and alone. Thus, I would be grateful if you could all give me a sentence on what depression was or felt like to YOU. Anonymity will be kept if wished. However, if you do wish to make yourself known please leave your name and age :) I hope to publish (alongside with illustrations) this towards the end of the month and really appreciate your contributions. Once published I will happily send copies out.

Thank you all,

Jenny x

My sentence: Depression is a mental cancer.

Suzi
04-01-16, 01:42 PM
(panda) Welcome to DWD Jenny. I'm sorry about your friend.

My sentence:
Depression robs you of so much, but with the right support you can get through it. Suzi (37) www.dealingwithdepression.co.uk

Paula
04-01-16, 05:16 PM
Hi Jenny and welcome. (bear) I'm so sorry you lost your friend.

My sentence: depression takes your life, spins it around and gives you back a life you never planned. Paula (will be 42 by the time you do anything with this)

JL-
04-01-16, 06:25 PM
Thanks for your support and contribution! I am writing them all down. Please keep them coming (panda)

amc204
06-01-16, 10:40 AM
Hi Jenny - sorry for your loss. I can empathise, someone I knew from my uni days took his own life 6 and a half years ago when only 24. Very sad